CEC class changes

On November 8, 2013, changes to the Canadian Experience Class (CEC) were announced.  Effective immediately, a maximum of 12,000 new permanent resident applications will be considered for processing each year under the CEC class.  CEC applicants must claim at least 12 months of work experience in one or more eligible NOC Skill Type 0, Skill Level A or Skill Level B occupations.  The current year for the 12,000-applicant cap is November 9, 2013 to October 31, 2014 and subsequently, November 1 to October 31 each year.

In addition to the 12,000-application limit, a further restriction of 200 complete applications yearly applies for each occupation at Skill Level B (per the 2011 version of the National Occupational Classification).  Furthermore, the government has designated six occupations as ineligible occupations for which work experience cannot be used.  The six occupations are: administrative officers, administrative assistants, accounting technicians and bookkeepers, retail sales supervisors, food service supervisors and cooks.

For more information, please contact www.selkirklaw.ca


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s